Making it through Monday

Happy Monday, everyone! This is my last Monday at my current job and we’re now less than two weeks away from moving day. I’m working on cleaning out the pantry and freezer, which means we’ve been eating a lot of soup and canned tuna. Why I ever thought we needed 8 cans of tuna packed in olive oil is beyond me. It must have been on sale (<—– sure sign I’m turning into my mother).

The list is short this week, because I haven’t been doing a lot of web surfing, although that’s probably not a bad thing 😉

Enjoy these finds from around the web (click link for photo source), and remember that Friday is only 4 days away!

Favorite Travel: 36 Hours in Phnom Pehn. Adam and I are planning to take a 3 month tour through SE Asia in 2016 and I’ve started researching travel destinations beyond the obvious (Vietnam and Thailand). If you have any suggestions for or must-sees, I would LOVE to hear them!

Favorite roundup: NPR’s Best Books of 2014. One of my absolute favorite things about vacation is having time to read, but I have such a hard time deciding on new authors and series, I frequently end up re-reading the same favorites over and over. NPR to the rescue! I love that the list is divided by category; I’ve already picked several of these to add to my Amazon wish list, including The Secret Place, because I can’t get enough foreign mystery novels.

Favorite bake: Chocolate-Dipped Caramel Chocolate Chip Biscotti from Bright-Eyed Baker. This picture is insanely amazing and I just adore biscotti. Usually, my favorite way to enjoy them is with a glass of vin santo, but the chocolate and caramel in these definitely call for a cup of coffee. It looks like the perfect treat to savor inside, with a good book, while the winter weather does its thing outside. I plan on whipping up a batch next weekend!

Chocolate Dipped Caramel Chocolate Chip Biscotti - Brighteyedbaker

Favorite crave: Creamy Mac & Cheese. During the cold months, I tend to hunker down and eat all the carbs. It’s been awhile since I’ve truly indulged in such cheesy gooey deliciousness, and I think it’s time to change that.

2 thoughts on “Making it through Monday

    1. Erin E. Post author

      You’re very welcome! The weather is rainy and nasty here in DC; any chance you’d deliver some, along with a steaming mug of coffee?! 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

