Hello, it’s me

Since I deleted the Facebook app from my phone as part of my goals for 2016, I’ve become so out of touch with popular culture. We don’t have cable (nor do we miss it), so I’m pretty oblivious as far as celebrities are concerned. But every once in a while, my husband, who is much cooler than I am, shows me an internet video that makes me smile.

I’m no Adele superfan, but I do enjoy her music and think she has an amazing voice. On top of that, she seems to actually be a nice person. (How rare.) If you haven’t seen her Carpool Karaoke with The Late Late Show host James Corden, I seriously recommend you take 15 minutes out of your day to watch. It. is. HILARIOUS. If you do nothing else, skip to minute 10:15. You won’t regret it.

Yesterday, (Saturday) I received 7 work emails from my boss. After working long hours every day last week, I needed one day to recharge, so I ignored his emails, and Adam and I, rather than being responsible adults and doing things like laundry or dishes, went downtown and accidentally got drunk at 5pm. I can take down a bottle of wine with the best of them, but give me a whiskey cocktail (ok, two), and I’m done for. The advantage of afternoon drinking is that I was in bed by 9 and awake by 6, without any traces of a hangover. That’s a victory in my book.

Saturday was my “play day” and today will be strictly business. I have a mountain of laundry to tackle, a suitcase to unpack, and a house to clean. I’d also like to get a jump-start on food prep for the upcoming week.

Lately, I’ve been really trying to convert some of our favorite dishes to vegan. I’m not a strict vegetarian, but I do feel better when I eat a mostly plant-based diet, and truly don’t miss the meat all that often. When I feel like having a steak or some chicken wings, I go for it, but I also actually like vegetarian protein staples like tofu, beans, lentils, etc.. Although Adam protests whenever I use the term, if I don’t tell him something is vegan, he dives right in. Basically, what he doesn’t know won’t hurt him.

A few weeks ago, I made a huge pot of Red Lentil Soup with Lemon and froze it in batches for easy reheat meals when there’s nothing in the fridge or I don’t feel like cooking. I tweaked it slightly (adding smoked paprika and cayenne for some spice, decreasing the amount of lemon, and throwing in kale that needed to be used up), and Adam hasn’t stopped raving about it since.

Other vegan successes have included cashew cream sauce (which freezes well) served over regular (vegan) pasta noodles for Adam and sweet potato noodles (à la this recipe) for me, and vegan parmesan cheese (which I told Adam was a “cashew topping” and he devoured).

Up on the vegan menu this week is more soup (can’t stop, won’t stop) and Coconut Curried Kale and Sweet Potato. This will be my last week at home before I start traveling for work again, and I want to take advantage of being able to cook my own meals as much as possible. If you have any favorite soup recipes, please send them my way! I can’t seem to get enough.

 

4 thoughts on “Hello, it’s me

  1. Trent Lewin

    Afternoon drinking is the best… I love my scotch, but can also down wine. We should really have a virtual wine-drinking party someday.

    I cook vegan dishes often! One of my favorite is sautéing (in water) some onions and garlic, then filling up the pot with water and tossing in vegetables ad nauseum (bok choi, mushrooms, bean sprouts, etc), and finishing off by tossing in some tofu and udon noodles (cook the noodles in the broth). Then add sriracha, and bam, huge pho/noodle soup.

    Reply
  2. Erin E. Post author

    Yes, virtual parties sound more fun than regular parties – no need to dress up, I can drink wine in my PJs! Not that I need an excuse to do that.

    Most bars in our area participate in what’s known as a “winter warmer” special – where they offer one or two drinks on their menu for buy-one-get-one-free. Usually these drinks are whiskey or bourbon based, so not my favorite, but I’m learning that the better bartenders can make anything taste good. Scotch I much prefer to bourbon/whiskey/rye – less burn – but I did try a Japanese whiskey the other night that was delightful! And of course, after the first cocktail, I don’t really care what’s in the second 😉

    Pho makes the short list of my top 5 favorite foods. I’m seriously worried about my health when we travel to Vietnam. I might die from pho overdose.

    Reply
  3. Brigitte

    Sounds as if you had a fun weekend and one we can relate to. I love rainy Sundays where you decide to watch movies and stay in bed all day. I’ve not seen that Adele clip but have heard much about it. My attention span usually doesn’t last for 15 minutes on YouTube, but I’ll give it a shot. ;). One of the best vegan soups (and I’ve given this recipe to others) is South Beach’s black bean soup recipe. It’s rich, hearty, and delicious. Here’s a link: https://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=754561. I add more onions and celery and let it simmer longer but it’s a phenomenal winter soup.

    Reply
    1. Erin E. Post author

      My attention span doesn’t last that long either! By then end, I was definitely fading, but the whole thing is pretty darn funny.

      Thank you for that recipe! I love black bean soups. One of my mom’s Halloween traditions is to invite all our family and family friends over to help distribute candy. She serves black beans and rice with big dollops of sour cream (which probably isn’t South Beach approved, nor is it vegan hah!). This sounds like a healthier spin on that dish – thank you for the link!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

