Wednesday recap

Another day, another blog post. I’m on a roll! I attribute it to being burned out at work – after working 80 hours last week, I just can’t bring myself to stay at the office later than 6:30, and rather than doing more work when I get home, I’m ordering glasses of wine from the hotel bar and binge watching the Food Network.

It’s ok, I still love her.

I guess I could be going out and exploring new restaurants rather than eating takeout in my hotel bed, but I’m in Arlington, also known as the Soulless Suburb, where hoards of families and tourists stay to avoid the crushing hotel prices of DC. If I’m going to spend $15 on an appetizer and $20 on a glass of wine, I need there to not be screaming children running around in the background. After a long day of mind-numbing work, I need to be able to enjoy my alcohol in peace, so hotel room it is.

Speaking of work, my job is especially tedious this week. Accounting is decently interesting at the best of times, but this week my job is to make sure a client is allocating expenses correctly. To make a long story very short, they got in trouble with the Department of Labor a few years ago for charging too much in expense to their retirement plan and now they get the pleasure of allocating expenses based on minute details – like the amount of bandwidth used (in terabytes) on each of their websites.

Y’all, I didn’t even know what bandwidth was until I looked it up on Wikipedia this morning. Technology and I don’t get along.

Fortunately for me, my hotel was offering free drinks in the lobby and the sweet man behind the bar didn’t even bat an eye when I asked for two glasses of wine to take up to my room. According to the signs posted, the free drinks were supposed to “give guests a chance to mingle and connect”, but I’m just not that social, even with free alcohol.

Between the wine and all the computer mumbo-jumbo I dealt with today, I might actually be lulled into sleep at a reasonable hour. Which would be great, because there’s a sunrise yoga class with my name on it. All this work/travel is wrecking havoc on my poor body, as my posture is horrendous. I blame it on being short and never being able to touch my feet to the ground, but it’s really because I’m lazy. I’m sure my poor vision and slouching over my computer doesn’t help either. I’m hoping a few sun salutations can work miracles tomorrow.

It’s time for me to wrap up this post, finish my glass of wine, and fall asleep to the sound of Guy Fieri stuffing his face with America’s finest bar food.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday recap

    1. Erin E. Post author

      Even so, he scares me less than Rachel Ray, and those two don’t come close to the sheer terror that is Sandra Lee.

      Reply
    1. Erin E. Post author

      Apparently even I’m not with me on sunrise yoga. It didn’t happen. But after-work yoga happened, so that counts right?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

