The prodigal returns

This is my first time logging into WordPress in 115 days. This is my first new post in over 7 months. It’s weird to be back, and it took a lot of self-persuasion to open up this blog, rather than starting from a totally new place.

I don’t have any good excuses to explain my absence. Mostly, it was a lot of little things (isn’t it always?). I was working late, and after spending 10+ hours in front of a computer, the last thing I wanted to do was open up another computer at home, even if it was to do something I enjoyed. I felt guilty coming home late and spending time at my laptop, rather than with my new husband. I also had a sense of resignation, that because I hadn’t posted in a week, then two weeks, then three weeks, I was a failure at this whole blogging thing, so might as well ignore it. It seemed easier to just let it lapse into oblivion.

But then I realized how much I missed blogging. I missed writing, I missed the sense of community, I missed being inspired from all the other writers. When I started drafting posts in my head while doing the dishes, I realized I needed to come back. And try again. Second chances are what life’s all about, right?

I know I have a lot of catching up to do. Fortunately, my last day of work will be December 12 (more details on that to come), so I’ll have a lot of extra time to spend on the computer 😉

2 thoughts on “The prodigal returns

Leave a Reply

