Back to the blogging world (and WEDDING PHOTOS!)

Wow, y’all.  What a week it’s been.

We arrived back from our extended honeymoon, just in time to unload the car before a new wave of winter weather struck DC.  I spent Saturday morning rearranging the kitchen and selecting several things to donate in order to make room for the 30 serving platters we received (seriously, I love all things kitchen related but where the hell am I going to put things like serving platters in my 800sq foot apartment?!  But that’s a discussion for another time.), while my new husband went through our refrigerator to throw out all the things that had spoiled in our absence.  (Hint: the kale didn’t make it.)  Saturday afternoon we went on an epic Trader Joe’s run to fill up the barren refrigerator.

By Sunday afternoon, my new husband was throwing up anything and everything that touched his stomach.  Plain toast, water, gatorade, all of the above.  I spent Sunday night alternating between napping in bed and consoling him next to the toilet.  At first, we thought maybe he’d eaten a bad oyster in Richmond, but when he was still sick on Wednesday (despite having eaten nothing for 3 days), we got a little concerned.

You see, in 2011 my new husband, then my new boyfriend, had emergency surgery to remove his colon.  I’ll spare you the details of his surgery and hard-fought recovery, because it will probably make me cry, and also because we don’t need all his medical information on the interwebs.  Just trust me when I say that when hubby has stomach problems, we start to get a little concerned.

So, after an appointment with a GP, a gastroenterologist nurse practitioner, and a round of blood work, they’ve scheduled him for a flex scan and an MRI next week.  Hubby is feeling much better now (case in point – he wanted pizza for dinner last night and asked me to bake him chocolate chip cookies for breakfast, not gonna happen), so these tests are really just precautionary.  

I tell you all this to explain why I’ve been like a walking zombie all week, haven’t read any of the amazing blogs I follow, and certainly haven’t been able to sit down and write anything coherent of my own.

I still can’t manage a decently written post, which is why you’re getting another picture post.  Sorry!  Take comfort in the fact that these, at least, were not taken by my iPhone and are actually incredibly high-quality pictures.

At the rehearsal dinner with my brother and grandfather

At the rehearsal dinner with my brother and grandfather

Rehearsal dinner decorations

Rehearsal dinner decorations

My wedding bouquet wrapped with my paternal grandmother's handkerchief and my maternal grandmother's engagement ring

My wedding bouquet wrapped with my paternal grandmother’s handkerchief and my maternal grandmother’s engagement ring

 

My wedding dress and veil (which was my mother's)

My wedding dress and veil (which was my mother’s)

First look with my father.  As you can probably tell, I'm a total Daddy's girl, and we were both sobbing hysterically.  But that's what waterproof mascara is for!

First look with my father. As you can probably tell, I’m a total Daddy’s girl, and we were both sobbing hysterically. But that’s what waterproof mascara is for!  Even though I’m married, I’m still his little girl, and I love that.

My soon-to-be husband enjoying a pre-wedding scotch to calm his nerves

My soon-to-be husband enjoying a pre-wedding scotch to calm his nerves.

 

"We now pronounce you - man and wife!"

“We now pronounce you – man and wife!”

Out in front of the church

Out in front of the church

Solo shot

Solo shot

Grand entrance - hubs had originally wanted to enter the reception via a smoke tunnel, but the reception vetoed that.  Instead, we settled for breaking through a UNC banner while the DJ played the fight song.  I think it was a success!

Grand entrance – hubs had originally wanted to enter the reception via a smoke tunnel, but the reception vetoed that. Instead, we settled for breaking through a UNC banner while the DJ played the fight song. I think it was a success!

Instead of a traditional wedding cake, we decided to a wedding topper for us to cut.  Everyone else enjoyed Krispy Kreme donuts flambeed in liqueur served with vanilla ice cream.  I didn't get to try one (too busy socializing!) but everyone seemed to really like it.

Instead of a traditional wedding cake, we decided to a wedding topper for us to cut, while everyone else enjoyed Krispy Kreme donuts flambeed in liqueur served with vanilla ice cream. I didn’t get to try one (too busy socializing!) but everyone seemed to really like it.

Cake cutting!  I told hubs he wasn't allowed to mess up my makeup with cake to the face, but I didn't exactly show the same courtesy to him.  Hehe!  It made for good pictures though :)

Cake cutting! I told hubs he wasn’t allowed to mess up my makeup with cake to the face, but I didn’t exactly show the same courtesy to him. Hehe! It made for good pictures though 🙂

So remember that cake we had for us to cut?  Well, OCD me tried to cut it into perfectly even slices and didn't notice the cake base wasn't attached to the cake stand.  Off it toppled, right into the wall!  This is my face right after I knocked it off.  At least now we don't have to worry about saving wedding cake for our 1 year anniversary!

So remember that cake we had for us to cut? Well, OCD me tried to cut it into perfectly even slices and didn’t notice the cake base wasn’t attached to the cake stand. Off it toppled, right into the wall! This is my face right after I knocked it off. At least now we don’t have to worry about saving wedding cake for our 1 year anniversary!

This is one of the last pictures of the night, after hubs had gotten tired of his bow tie and right before we made our getaway.

This is one of the last pictures of the night, after hubs had gotten tired of his bow tie and right before we made our getaway.

So there you go!  Our wedding was absolutely everything we wanted it to be and then some.  One of these days, I’ll do a full write-up with details, but for now, hopefully the pictures will suffice.  Happy Saturday everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Back to the blogging world (and WEDDING PHOTOS!)

  1. Trent Lewin

    Okay, well, that totally made my evening. You guys look great! And so happy! And I’m so happy for you. Thanks for sharing some wedding pics, they are gorgeous.

    I think I may have some of my own Glenlivet now…

    Reply
    1. Erin E. Post author

      Aw, thanks Trent! We absolutely had a blast – and obviously the Glenlivet helped!

      I was giving him a hard time about spending $120 on a bottle of Scotch, until he let me try some. Now I get it. 18 years in a barrel makes for a tasty drink.

      Reply
    1. Erin E. Post author

      Thank you – I’m not sure about perfect (I probably could have gone without knocking over the cake…), but it was definitely perfect for us!

      Reply
    1. Erin E. Post author

      Thank you so much! It really was a great day. Not something I’d ever want to do over, though, so I’m hoping hubs puts up with me for a few more years 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

