Mini frittatas – an easy, make-ahead breakfast

Are you a breakfast person?  I certainly am.  Most mornings, I’m hungry the second I open my eyes (seriously), so skipping breakfast has never been an option.  Cereal, however, just doesn’t cut it.  Especially on days when I drag myself to Crossfit at 6AM, I come back from class absolutely ravenous and looking for something substantive, yet healthy enough to not totally reverse all the calories I’ve burned.

Mini Frittatas

These mini frittatas are so simple to make and so easy to customize that I hesitate to even call it a recipe.  It’s more like an idea, one that I first saw on an episode of this season’s Biggest Loser, when trainer Bob Harper shared his recipe with the contestants.  That version used turkey bacon, but I kept mine vegetarian and used a mix of spinach, mushrooms, feta cheese, and sundried tomatoes.  Rather than mixing the eggs with milk, I mixed them with plain nonfat Greek yogurt, a trick I also use when making scrambled eggs to boost the protein content and keep the eggs nice and creamy.  I sauteed spinach, chopped mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, and garlic, let everything cool, then added the veggies to the egg/Greek yogurt mixture with salt and a healthy dollop of Sriracha.  I poured the mixture into greased muffin tins and baked the frittatas at 350 degrees for 15ish minutes until the eggs were just set.

Veggie frittatas

There are so many different flavor combinations and variations to try, you really can’t go wrong.  Mexican with onions, peppers, and black beans.  French with asparagus and brie.  Italian with mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.  Southern with collards and country ham.  Yankee with cream cheese, chives, and smoked salmon.  Or you can eschew conventional boundaries and put black beans with bacon.  The world is your oyster.

Let me know if you try it out; I’d love to hear what you you come up with!

 

2 thoughts on “Mini frittatas – an easy, make-ahead breakfast

  1. Pingback: Making it through Monday – a company doing the right thing, a scenic resort, and cookies for breakfast | Slightly North of Home

Leave a Reply

