Making it through Monday

Due to the holiday weekend, I’m a little behind schedule, so forgive my lateness. Tuesday is the new Monday?

The Boo and I were in Florida this weekend to attend an engagement party thrown in our honor and take care of some last minute wedding planning. We are officially in the 30s for our Days Until Nuptials countdown, and although there’s a lot that has been accomplished (wedding invited went out last week, which was our last big to-do), we still have a lot of little things to take care of (ceremony music selection, ordering bridal party gifts, putting together gift baskets for the out-of-town guests, finalizing rehearsal dinner plans, yada yada yada). I know everything will come together, so I’m not particularly stressed; mostly I’m ready for the Big Day to hurry up and get here so we can go on our honeymoon.

Anyway, enjoy this week’s list of things that are helping me make it through Monday Tuesday!

Best dose of Vitamin D: Florida sunshine. This afternoon, I was sitting out on my parents’ patio, soaking up the gorgeous sunshine and enjoying a delicious veggie avocado sandwich. When I was growing up in the Sunshine State, I’d complain about the lack of seasons, but after spending 3 cold, gray winters in DC, I’m thankful to come home to flip-flop weather in the middle of January! (Of course, everyone here is bundled up in boots and scarves, but hey, to each their own.)

Weather in FL

Lunch on the patio

Best quirky character: Tucker.  Also providing me with great entertainment and happiness this weekend was my parents’ dog, Tucker. He’s a two-year-old Boarder Collie they rescued from a family who couldn’t keep him any more.  Tucker is a sweet, good-natured dog, but he clearly has a few screws loose (bless his heart).  When he greets new people, he jumps up to sniff their eyes, he keeps himself occupied by chasing his own shadow, and occasionally he licks the walls.  Not only did he provide my “dog fix” for a little while, but he provided several minutes of entertainment throughout the weekend as we watched him sprint back and forth across the lawn, trying to catch his shadow.

Tucker

In other, non-family related links…..

Best internet list: Distractify’s 28 Most Flawless Responses to a Wrong Number Text had me laughing out loud throughout the whole thing.  I know this has been circulating the internet for a while, but this gets me every time I read it.  Warning: inappropriate language, probably not safe for work.

Best science: NASA scientists take first steps to building faster-than-light warp engine that could make Star Trek a reality.  Don’t be deterred; the article title is nearly as long as the article itself.  If you’re like me, just gloss over the science part and marvel at the intelligence of some of these guys.  Achieving warp speed is even a remote possibility?  How.  freaking.  cool.

Picture from Daily Mail

Warning: the next link is not for the squeamish.

Best home cleaning: Drain Wig.  Like I said, not for the faint of heart.  Clogged drains are always disgusting; but, if you have long, curly hair like I do, they’re a way of life.  This product promises to eliminate the need to dig it out yourself.  (Like I said, gross, but worth sharing.)

Try not to think about what it actually does...

Try not to think about what it actually does…

Best one-bowl dinner: Maple-Miso Glazed Tofu with Broccoli and Winter Squash.  Sweet + Salty = happy Erin.  I’ll probably sub Brussels sprouts for the broccoli, but everything else about this dish looks divine.

Photo by Joanne Bruno

Photo by Joanne Bruno

Best gift: Savino Wife Saver Carafe.  I discovered this contraption while adding some last-minute items to our wedding registry, and I allowed the sales lady to make me into a total believer.  You pour leftover wine into the carafe, drop in the stopper, and your wine keeps for 5 – 8 days.  Best of all, when you’re ready to drink again, you can pour straight from the elegant carafe.  I can promise you that this will make it into our kitchen, one way or the other!

 

 

 

 

Savino wine saver carafe

 

And that’s all for now, folks!  We’re supposed to have a minor winter storm tomorrow, so cross your fingers for a snow day!  I’d love to work from home instead of traipsing about the city in cold, gray slush.

7 thoughts on “Making it through Monday

    1. Erin E. Post author

      The wedding is in February. I realize I haven’t given nearly enough details about the event that is currently consuming my life, so naturally I’m using at as inspiration for my next post. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Erin E. Post author

        February 22.

        That’s less than a month away. I know I need to be freaking out over something but I’m not sure exactly what!

      2. Maggie O'C

        That’s my sisters’ birthdays! It will be fab! In Flahrida? Is your mom all in on the fun? I didn’t have to do anything for my first one which was a big one….my mom was on it! Yay for you!

      3. Erin E. Post author

        Oh my gosh, Maggie, my mom IS the fun. She’s done everything (bless her). The only decisions I’ve had to make is which dress to wear, what food to eat, and what wine to drink. She’s taken care of all the nit-picky details like flowers, decor, and napkins. I just get to show up and party!

Leave a Reply

